£8.99

Paper Butterflies

More Info

2954901641134969

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2017 Shortlisted for the Bookseller YA Prize 2017 ‘Please, Momma’ I say, trying to make my voice so sweet. Trying to sound just like Megan. ‘I’ll be quick, please let me.’ She turns me to look into those eyes. ‘I’m not your momma,’ she says. Stand By Me meets We Were Liars – a heartbreaking and stunning breakout novel for teenagers from the award-nominated author of Seed. Can you fly with broken wings? June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She’s trapped like a butterfly in a jar. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away. But freedom comes at a price… Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson’s The Art of Being Normal, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan, Jennifer Niven and Louise O’Neill. ‘It broke my heart over and over. Destined to be one of THE most important books this year.’ – Melinda Sailsbury, author of The Sin Eater’s Daughter “A gripping and harrowing tale…best YA proof I’ve read this year.” – Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning YA debut about a cult, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Prize. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Paper Butterflies is her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Lisa lives in Brighton.